Children nowadays spend a great deal of time watching television. However, television cannot replace the book as a learning tool, which is why children are less well‐educated today. To what extent do you agree with this statement

Television is ubiquitous and watching shows on it has become favorite pastime of children today. Although, a plethora of sitcoms, documentaries and others of that ilk are broadcasted nowadays, reading books is germane to educate young minds. This essay will discuss how the television barely acts as a learning tool when compared to books, and how it has impacted on the education of young generation.

Firstly, Television industries focus merely on viewer ratings. The shows with high viewership are promulgated. Owing to this trend, there are fewer kids educational programs today. Television also promotes violence more than any other gadget today, which will have a negative impact on children.

Secondly, various other platforms, like online learning applications, for instance BYJU’s, are easily available on mobile phones, rendering Television show-casing entertainment. Audio-visual platforms for classroom studies are on peak these days.

On the other hand reading a book helps to increase the concentration as well as linguistic skills of a child can also be developed by reading exercises. A teenager who has read the books will always have a higher intelligent quotient compared to a youngster who prefers to watches movies over reading. For instance, to clear an entrance exam, a student has to reply on the books, watching TV is not going to help him pass the exam.

All in all, Watching TV can have detrimental impacts on a child, instead reading a book is a useful activity in long run. Well-educated Young generation is required by nation to strenghthen its economy.