Some people think that it is important to teach children the skill of handwriting. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the development of technology, texting tends to replace handwriting. While some people consider this skill as an out-of-date ability, others believe that teaching of children the skill is very important. I absolutely agree with the latter which will be discussed in this essay.

To begin with, according to scientific research, penmanship helps to develop areas of children's brains, which is located close to the speech area. Thus, with the development of handwriting, children's speech develops as well. Further, many children memorize better through handwriting. In other words, new information or knowledge is acquired faster when children use handwriting. For example, there are several special methods based on handwriting, which allow children to learn new foreign words in a short period. Finally, well-developed handwriting skill allow children to write correctly. It is a well-known fact, people with excellent writing make rarely spelling mistakes.

However, some people feel that texting supersedes handwriting gradually and, in the long run, will completely replace it. For instance, people use computers and the Internet for work, communications or just writing letters. Moreover, there seems to be nothing that cannot be done or written using gadgets. Further, electronic documents mean less paper is being used and, as a result, it helps the environment. Therefore, it seems to be unnecessary to spend time learning the out-of-date skill. Nevertheless, it should be emphasized that all the benefits of learning handwriting may be lost.

All in all, despite the view, that handwriting is not such an essential ability in the modern world, I would like to highlight the importance of learning this skill by children for their better future.