Some people think that it is the responsibility of governments to take care of the environment, while others believe that it is the responsibility of people to take care of the environment. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

As environmental pollution has recently become a controversial issue these days, it is often argued that either the government or people should assume the responsibility to preserve the environment. While I believe that there should be no exception as an environmental caretaker, I will review both points of view in detail.

On the one hand, the government can be the only appropriate organization to act and to respond promptly to various environmental issues. Consider there is extreme air pollution by emitting a whole host of toxic gases from the industry. Without restriction and legislation governing by the authority, ordinary people have no measure to stop such air pollution. Moreover, only the government can introduce and execute a variety type of punishments, ranging from a small fine to community service, or even perhaps prison sentences to those who break the environmental protection law.

On the other hand, we, as an individual, should not completely rely on the government to solve every single environmental issue. Instead of that, we ourselves should find a way to contribute to the protection of mother nature. For example, actions like recycling the garbage into the proper bins or having a shower with less use of shampoo could be done only by the efforts of individuals. On top of that, as the government is elected by our votes, we should care about every action of the government toward environmental problems instead of shifting the responsibilities to the authority.

In conclusion, in order to live in a clean, pollution-free environment and leave it to the next generation, both the government and the individual should be aware and make an effort to contribute the preserving the environment.