Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

These days, international travel is more realistic then ever, many people decide to study or move aboard although there is a language barrier. While it is argued to cause social and practical problems, I totally agree with that and am going to describe reasons in this essay.

As one of the newcomers in Canada, I saw that many immigrants faced and suffered from various social problems related to their lack of language abilities. One reason is language-based discrimination, rather than race, color or where they are from. For example, it is well-known true that residents in Montreal where the main language is French often look down and discriminate against foreign tourists who do not speak their language or even other Canadian who mainly speak English. Furthermore, such people are easy to become a target for misdemeanors like a pickpocket due to their lack of language skills to report to the police or ask for help. Another issue would be social isolation. Many newcomers have a difficulty to make a friend in depth by their lack of communication skills, and this led them to isolate themselves, and suffering from homesick or loneliness.

The lack of language skills can cause even more problems in the practical aspect. First, you would struggle with minor tasks in daily life such as grocery shopping, taking a bus, perhaps paying a bill. In my personal experience, I had difficulty to describe certain food items to a grocery shop worker, which was a really frustrating moment for me because I even missed my last bus afterward. Second, following a school course will be much harder than native students. International pupils will experience difficulties in the aspect of reading and listening to a teacher's lecture as well as understanding the underlying meaning. Finally, this language barrier can be a stumbling block to find a job. If I am an employer, I would hire a native speaker rather than those relatively lacks language skills who may harm the business than good.

In conclusion, many people dream about living and studying in a remote country. I believe, however, they seem to overlook all the disadvantages mentioned above generated by the language gap.