Some people think that the media newspaper have the right to publish details of people’s private life, while others think it should be controlled. Discuss both views & give your opinion.

Since last few decades, media has freedom of speech which means that they are allowed to articulate their idea and opinion without the fear of censorship. Despite this, it is argued that media must have restricted rights to showcase the private life of people. This essay will first discuss the importance of publishing about personal life and secondly the need of stringent media controls followed by a reasoned conclusion.

To start with, those who proclaim the coverage of private lives of people by media, concentrate on lives of politicians and artists. They believe that personal lives of diplomats are good criteria for showing how loyal they are with their slogans. For instance, the president Obama who advocates gay rights, really respect gay in his personal life. If not, means he is not trustable. Similarly, artists, celebrities and social workers are the role model for society, it is mandatory to publicize their personal life so people adopt their life style. For example, many people in Pakistan are admired by Abdul Sattar Edhi, a down to earth person with simple standard of living yet owns largest network of ambulance and dedicate his life for humanity. His admirers opted same lifestyle. Admittedly, it is agreed that media played a positive role by publishing personal lives of people.

Another insight that must not be neglected, people either the diplomat, artist or social worker have their own life and media should respect their privacy. Undoubtedly, people feel discomfort when media invades in their personal life. Bollywood actress Divya Bharti committed suicide in 1992 due to publication of her personal 18 plus photos in a magazine known as “Indian Times”. Indeed, such incidents are question mark on the liberty of media. Thus, it is undeniable that media should have restricted rights for publication.

To conclude, media has the power to influence people. However, the contents of publications must be controlled in order to safeguard the privacy of people, celebrities and politician. It is predicted that if controlled rights are provided people will have information and alongside privacy will be maintained.