Too much money is wasted on exploring the oceans. This money would be better spent elsewhere. Discuss both sides.

Financial decisions are always challenging for the government of both developing and developed nations. Either to utilise the funds to full fill basic necessity such as food, clothing, shelter, education and health or to spent in exploration of oceans to benefit the society and to improve quality of life. This essay will discuss benefits for exploring oceans and advantages for investing in attaining needs of people.

Firstly, almost 70% of the world is comprises of water and rest 30% is land. Many people across the globe are struggling for possession of land for living purposes. Exploring oceans and seas will provide help to build houses in order to solve shelter issues. Venice in Italy is one of the example where city is built in water in order to accommodate the population. Moreover, exploration of water will also help to generate cheap source of energy. According to research paper published by World Economic Forum reveals that electricity generated from water is 80% cheaper and Eco-friendly than that of other sources such as wind & fuel. Thus, it is clear that, exploration of water will resolve shelter and energy issues which are one of the heated argument these days.

On contrary, spending money in other sectors of economy like health, education is valuable in developing countries where more than 50% of people lies below the poverty line which means these people are even unable to attain basic necessity of life like Pakistan, India, some parts of Africa. In developing countries spending are restricted to these sectors only because exploration of water on cost of life of poor population is simply inhuman. Argument that money could spent on other target can not be debunked for these nations.

To conclude, government spending criteria differs as whether nation is developing or developed. However, investing in exploration of water will benefit society in long run as it will resolve issue related to shelter and energy generation whereas spending money to eliminate poverty is one of the basic agenda.