Some people think the news has no real connection to people’s lives, so reading newspapers or watching news programmes on television is a waste of time. Do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that talk shows and print media is useless as it has no relation with our life. Although some might agree with this statement, but I completely disagree with this notion. Not only because the news is a good source of information and awareness but also because it can influence a society in several ways. This essay will explore the factors to justify my opinion.

Firstly, the fact that compelled me to disagree with this statement is that the news is a very good source of information either in form of paper media or television shows. As we can get knowledge of different aspects in our society and around the globe as well. Take an example of a survey conducted by the New York Times in the United States of America, according to the survey people expressed that news magazine and news broadcasted on television help them stay informed with the world. Thus, news is an important factor in our life which makes us feel connected with others.

Secondly, television programs and newspapers are very good ways to generate awareness in society. As it is a human behavior that things we read or watch can have a lasting effect on our memory. For Instance, the French government uses print media and news shows to teach people about the adverse effects of drugs. Hence, news can be useful in educating people about any social issue prevailing in a community.

Finally, watching television and reading newspapers can also be motivational in terms of new fashion trends or any new achievement made by somebody. As people appearing in news magazines and television programs are public figures and can be influential.

To sum up, I believe that I totally disagree with this statement. Not only because news are informative source and can be used to identify problems in our society but also because it can be motivational in several ways.