The world of work is changing rapidly and people cannot depend on having the same job or the same working conditions for life. What are the possible causes of this rapid change? How can people prepare for work in the future?

As robots and machines are taking over different industries, the job market has changed a lot over time and now it is hard for individuals to continue working in the same field throughout their lives. I will be explaining how modern technology and competition in similar industries are affecting people to get hired. Along with these circumstances, I will also explain that how training and learning extra skills can be helpful for people to find a suitable job in the coming years.

The first and biggest reason I believe behind this drastic change is the advancement in technology. As we can observe in our surroundings that so many jobs that were done by humans now already taken over by computers and robots. Take an example of a report published in Daily News China, it is mentioned in the report that China has a plan to convert its train, buses, and cars to go driverless by 2030. Thus, a big sum of drivers will lose their job to artificial intelligence.

The second reason behind this menace is growing competition within the same industry. The banking sector was high in demand a decade ago, so lots of people adopted to be bankers and still doing so. This has caused a huge influx and now demand has been decreased. For Instance, in Alberta Canada, the petroleum industry attracted lots of talent, but with time when the industry got overcrowded and competition increased people suffered badly. Hence competitive work environment can also be a reason for people not able to carry similar profession entire life.

There are multiple measures that can be taken to handle this increasing concern. The primary solution I believe is that people should be trained to work with modern technology and the government should take initiatives to start such training courses. Another step that can help to overcome the pressure of work and let people be ready for their career could be learning new skills. It can be learning a new language, administrative or technical skills besides their primary occupation.

I will conclude this essay with my opinion that modern technology and competition in similar industry can restrict individual carry on same work throughout his life, but people can be ready for these challenges by training themselves to adopt new technology and learn new skills.