Some people think that school children should be asked to work individually in class. Others believe that working in small groups is better. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Educators always try to update the curriculum to help students perform better. It is often argued by some that working alone can be more beneficial as students can learn to be self-sufficient. Meanwhile, others still claim that working in a team can help achieve more, as students can solve complex problems with collective efforts. This essay will discuss both views before deducing a logical opinion.

On the one hand, the supporters of the idea that students should do tasks alone believe that it will help students to be less dependent and more confident so they can perform better in their studies by themselves. Take an example of a report published by a newspaper in the United Kingdom, which states that students who were used to study on an individual basis performed better in studies. Thus, encouraging students to do independent tasks can be more beneficial and make them self-sufficient.

While on the other hand, the advocates of the view that teamwork should be promoted to believe that working together will develop a sense of cooperation and collaboration, which can help them to accomplish difficult tasks easily. For instance, schools in China push children to work together in mini-groups to achieve better results. Hence, teamwork can be very useful for students.

Whereas, I believe that Teachers should develop activities in such a way that students have to work equally in a group and also require to perform some individual tasks. Working together can teach them teamwork skills and how to cooperate with others. While working alone will make them strong to do things independently.

To sum up, I firmly believe that children should be taught to work alone and as part of a group so they can learn to be self-sufficient and how to do things together as a team.