Some people think that in order to deal with the problem of congestion in cities, privately owned vehicles should be banned in city centres while others consider this to be an unrealistic solution.

Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

A few centuries ago, when there were a handful of cars in dusty streets, cars did not cause any problem. However, the number of cars around the world has increased exponentially and many big cities are facing both congestion and pollution problems. Some people think that personal cars are to be blamed and they should be banned from streets. This essay will discuss its feasibilities.

Banning private cars is technically possible. Many cities have been doing this for decades and the result was fantastic. It resolves congestion by cutting away more than half number of cars in the city; altogether with pollution problem because it is mostly caused by the same set of cars. More than that, it has proofed that banning cars drastically reduced the number of accidents happen on road.

On the other hand, car ban needs well managed public transportation such as bus, and train. The city needs to have its infrastructure ready before issuing a ban order. In addition, not every destinations are accessible by public transportation., a badly organized city may not be successful with car ban because people cannot go wherever they want to go. It also needs a lot of parking lot around city perimeter because people need a place to park their cars before on boarding public transportation.

In summary, car ban solves a lot of problems exist in big cities. It is possible given a ready transportation system available before hand otherwise it would not be feasible. I am of the opinion that car ban should be done at some level in big cities to promote healthier and less stressful life.