Some people think parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, think that school is the place to learn this. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Opinions are divided on whether it is the responsibility of parent to instill discipline and good behavior into their children or it is up the school to bring them up. As each part has some capabilities which the other side lacks, I think it is the combination of these two places that can give the best results.

Parents, as the first people who are in full contact with children, are the core part of their education. Before going to the school, children’s education which is vitally important is being done inside families. Even after the child goes to school, parents have a moral responsibility to observe their children’s behavior and take some measures into consideration if they see any disorder. Even with the children who are spending 10 hours a day at school, they still have majority of their time at home and they are spending the most crucial moments of their lives with their parents. So the striking role of parents in children’s upbringing cannot be underestimated.

On the other hand however, schools have never been about merely teaching science to the children; their behavioral problems always matters to teachers. The latter one’s importance is based on the fact that schools are the first place that children are dealing with each other; so it is crucially important that they learn how to treat their peers. Actually it can play a prototype of a simple society that they should live in later in their lives and school can play a very important role to instill the necessary skills into them regarding the issue. Furthermore, if an individual student has some kind of disorder or psychological problems, it is the duty of school to alert the parents and even more, take action if the parents are not caring about the alarms. According to all the aforementioned, I personally believe that parents and school can play as complement to each other and none of their roles can be underestimated.

In conclusion, the vital duty of upbringing children is on the parents in the first place but school can play a complementary role because children should be taught the social skills of living in the society as well as personal behaviors.