Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

Over the last decade, people have long been debating over the issue of whether longer prison sentences can lead to crime reduction in a society or there should be some substitution methods employed to benefit the society in terms of crime controlling. While a total solution does not exist, there are some advantages in each side of the argument.

On the one hand, prison sentence is a conventional, well known, and effective method for confronting culprits and criminals in different levels depending on type and severity of the crime.

It can not only separate offenders who are likely to repeat immoral activities in the society from people but also prepare an environment in which culprits can be educated and learn how to behave. The imprisonment can be looked at both as a punishment and as an educational course prisoner needs to pass in order to be able to return to the society. However, for more serious crimes like murder or armed robbery a life sentence can insure that convicted person will not pose any more threat to the citizens. Meanwhile, the life sentence has a very effective deterrent capability. Having seen a criminal spending the rest of his life in jail, potential offenders are less likely to commit similar crimes.

On the other hand, however, there are some people who believe imprisoning criminals is a solution its disadvantages outweigh the aforementioned advantages and therefore should be abolished or limited, giving way to other methods of punishment like doing public services, financial fines, exiles, and electronic surveillance. The big disadvantage of keeping criminals in prison is that they might share their mal-behaviors with each other leading the prisoners to be more dangerous individuals when discharging from jail. Employing these new methods not only reduce the risk of spreading crimes but also reduce the cost of building prisons and the system which is needed to run them.

To sum up, long prison sentences are sometimes inevitable, whereas they can be detrimental to the society in other aspects. It seems that a combination of prison sentences and new punishment methods should be exploited to achieve the best result.