Some people think that people who are over 60 years old should retire and stop working. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Everything has its positive and negatives and so has the technology. While some people believe that technology is deteriorating human lives, many believe that it would not have made life any better. In this essay, I will explore both the ideas and support the latter part.

Firstly, Technology has eradicated the human touch from most of the work. There are many works which are done for a great experience, shopping is one of them. Before the launch of e-commerce business (online shopping) there was great human touch to the products which worker would sell to the customers. Although shopping online is quite comfortable but the certainty of the quality of the product is dicey till it is not received by the customer. Secondly, it would not be wrong saying that technology eased the life of human race but gave invitation to new diseases forms as well. Researchers have confirmed that in coming years, there will be an increment in bone related diseases (spondylolysis, arthritis etc.) due to the overuse of technology.

Technology has advanced human life by making difficult and unapproachable things easy and within the reach of mankind. For instance, Whatssapp, face timing, Google maps are some technology-based services that has eased human life. There is almost no area which is untouched with technology. Technology has not only aided product and services but also advanced medical science to find cure for many fatal diseases. As an example, DNA finger printing is a very basic requirement for the cure of many genetic disease. Earlier it used to take 6-12 months to sequence a DNA sample and it would cost someone an arm and a leg. However, after the advancement in technology, DNA sequencing can be done in couple of hours and interestingly in same amount of money you would spend for a burger.

In conclusion, I would say that knife was made to cut the vegetables but we human used it to kill other human beings. Similarly, technology has some ill effects on our society, but I believe that it has contributed positively to mankind. It is we who must decide to use technology to improve our lives or destroy.