Some people think that a person improves their intellectual skills more when doing group activities. To what extent do you agree? Use specific details and examples to explain your view

It is believed by a section of people that the critical thinking ability is enhanced in collective activity. In my opinion, I partially agree with the statement. I think we tend to unravel the deepest mysteries of mind when we are in solitude. This essay will discuss that group work may boosts one’s intellect, however, it is the individual effort that really matters.

Firstly, when we are part of a group, we receive assistance from our peers. This might look great at the first instance, but when we look closely it is in fact acting as a hindrance to our thinking. Secondly, more often than not there is disagreement among the people. In other words, it might lead to chaos. To illustrate, several people participating in a media debate end up throwing rants at each other rather than having a productive discussion. While I have pointed out the negative aspects, it is still a matter of choice and comfort.

On the other hand, working individually allows us to be more focused in our work, as a result we turn out to be more innovative. Furthermore, there is no external disturbance that causes deviation. This helps us to come up with new thoughts and ideas. For instance, if we have a glance at the life of one of the greatest physicist, Einstein. He worked alone for most of his life, and was awarded nobel prize for his work on photoelectric effect.

In conclusion, when we work alone on something, we can definitely better use our thoughts. This essay has discussed that working individually is the best way to improve our intelligence. Hence, if you want to unleash the unlimited power of brain, start pondering alone.