Some people think the personal car is the best way to travel within cities, while others think bicycles are better.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays people use various modes of transportation to reach their destinations in cities. Two of the important ones that they use are private cars and bicycles. It is believed by some people that the former is a wiser choice within cities since it is faster and takes less time. On the other hand, some people are in favour of bicycles, by emphasising the fact that it is healthier and more environmentally friendly. A detailed account of both these views will be presented in the following paragraphs.

Commuting to work or school can be really quick and less time consuming, as long as you drive your own personal car. These vehicles are considered to be the best choice in large industrial cities where people are forced to spend a considerable amount of their time making short journeys to work and back. So residents of such cities cannot rely on bicycles as their main mode of transportation, otherwise, they will waste their precious time in long distances. Thus, cars can be used instead of bicycles, because it is fast and can save time.

However, if factors like health and green transportation are taken into consideration, bicycles can be a better option. In some countries like the Netherlands, the government tries to implement innovative plans in order to encourage more citizens to use bicycles, and it also takes important measures to allocate substantial budget to construct highways exclusively used by cyclists. In these countries residents, offered some incentives, are tempted to spend more time on their regular trips, but instead keep themselves in better shape and avoid polluting their cities. Therefore, they will be more inclined to use bicycles rather than personal cars.

All in all, both these modes of transportation have some merits and demerits. Cars are fast and can save one's time, while bicycles are healthier and will not contaminate the air. However, since we are living in an era in which our lives are threatened by increasing amount of toxic gases emitted from cars and other vehicles, it is better to advocate the use of bicycles. In this regard supporting policies such as working flexitime can be implemented in companies to give more time for people to use bicycles.