Some people think the qualities of a person needs to become successful in today's world cannot be learned at a university or similar academic institution. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Success does not only depend on the qualification of an individual but also on the skill set. One school of thought believe that personal qualities are more essential to become successful in the contemporary world, instead of university degrees. However, I fractionally agree with this notion as academic knowledge has equal importance. In this essay, I will delineate the given standpoint with relevant examples.

To commence with, there are potential factors that help an individual to achieve fame and success, without degrees. For one, a talented person from the fields of sports, music, business, and arts has become successful in no times, if he or she could able to win the hearts of people with his or her aptitudes. To be more precise, success merely depends on educational backgrounds. For illustration, the founder of Panasonic, Konosuke Matsushita, has quit his studies at an early age due to lack of funds and started making sockets for business purposes. Nevertheless, with his unmatchable hard work, he became successful to own a company, which is one of the famous firms in the world. As a result, success is not always an outcome of higher grades.

On the flip side, there are a variety of jobs that open doors to qualified professionals. In other words, particular education is necessary for professions such as a lawyer, professor, and research scientist, alongside experience in the same field. Consequently, education provides theoretical as well as practical knowledge, which could boost the qualities and skills of a person, to become successful. Take the case of doctors for instance; the continuous practice of the successful diagnosis of the patients is not enough unless they have required degrees from the qualified institutes to set-up their careers. Hence, the requirement of university education for prosperous life cannot be ignored.

In essence, different ideologies regarding the attribution of education for success have discussed. It has been categorically mentioned that talent and proficiency have not always relied on higher education, however; qualification is crucial in various departments. Therefore, people should emphasize their abilities and limitations to meet their goals.