Some people think secondary school students should study international news as one of their subjects. Other people say this is a waste of valuable school time. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Some school of thought believe that high school students should learn about foreign information as part of their courses while others think it is unnecessary and will lead to complete wastage of essential school time. Learning about foreign information can lead to cumbersomeness of course load but I however believe it is important as it helps broaden their knowledge.

On the one hand,high school students studying international news is important as it helps broaden their knowledge, keeping them abreast of happenings in the world from an early age. This increases their scope of learning new and different words daily and hence, it is very important. For example,a research was carried out recently in the Lekki area of Nigeria, and it appeared that the students who were opportune to attend British high secondary school where foreign information were taught tend to intimidate those who did not as they appeared more intelligent and informed.

On the other hand,it is said that learning about international information can lead to wastage of school time as it can make course work at school cumbersome. This means an increase in work load for the students as well as posing stress on them especially when having to study for examination. I however believe that no knowledge acquired in school is a waste and studying foreign information is as important as learning school courses.

In conclusion, whilst it is believed that studying about foreign information at school is worthless and unproductive as it increases school course load on student, i however think that it is very essential as it broadens their knowledge and keep them informed.