Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In the modern era of education, children are required to be encouraged with various beneficial techniques to make them successful in life. Proponents opine that competitive skills must be instilled in students while opponents suggest that teaching them to co-operate can reap much more merits in their upbringing. This essay will discuss both these aspects and argue why co-operation among kids has outweighing positives.

On the one hand, encouraging children with a sense of competition improves the performance factor. Peer competition provides students the urge and necessity to perform well and prove themselves to the best of their abilities. For instance, conducting a swimming race for pupils shows the competitive spirit among them and the requirement to perform their best in order to bag the prize. This sense of competitive attitude allows youngsters to achieve more with boldness and confidence. Furthermore, this competing sense leads to victory with consistent hard work and effort thereby enabling them to taste the fruit of success.

On the other hand, although competitive skills can help in achieving success, teaching children co-operation enables them to grow better as an individual and handle any kind of situation. They must be taught that even in cases where individual performance may not provide victory, teamwork and coordination among fellow mates can bring out the best from within. In addition, by learning to be co-operative, students acquire knowledge about the team player skills at a younger age that will make a great difference in future. To give a clear example, the success of any organisation depends entirely on the employees' teamwork and co-operation.

In conclusion, although motivating young ones with competitive skills improves their performance, providing them the knowledge of co-operation and teamwork helps in upbringing them as much better adults in future. Thus, it is evident that advocating children with the sense of co-operation outweighs the other aspect.