Some people think that spending a lot on holding wedding parties, birthday

parties and other celebrations is just a waste of money. Others, however,

think that these are necessary for individuals and the society.

Discuss both views and give your opinion

There is currently a contentious argument over whether people should spend a lot of money for celebrating events such as birthdays and wedding parties. While some people believe that it is simply a waste of time and finances but others argue that these are important for individuals and society. In this essay, I am going to examine this question from both points of view and then give my own opinion on the matter.

Beyond any qualms there are myriad of logical reasons to explain why celebrating family functions is an important aspect in the society. Every person is a social being and when they themselves attend the family functions of others then it becomes an obligation to invite others in their functions as well. Moreover, it is a chance for the whole family to get together with distant relatives who otherwise do not meet so often.

Furthermore, festivities are more fun and entertaining when all the members, neighbors and relatives are together. For instance, Indian weddings are famous for their pomp and show as it continues for three days and all the distant relatives and neighbors get together to not only celebrate the event but they even help in organizing the event with the host which in turns strengthens the relationship and bonding of the whole family.

On the contrary, others believe that celebrating marriages and birthdays are simply a waste of time and money. Celebrations have become a status symbol for showing off wealth and resources. Sometimes people get overboard and spend lots of money for the wedding leaving them without any savings for future. The money could instead be utilized for the bride and groom to start their life together by making payment for their apartment or any other possession together.

In conclusion, I believe that it is important to celebrate family functions in the society as it is a matter of emotional connection with the members of the family. However, the financial planning should be done wisely so as not to go overboard under peer pressure. Whether the middle class people realize this difference? Still remains a question.