some people think that students in single-sex schools perform better academically. others, however, believe that mixed schools provide children with better social skills for adult life. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In the present age, whether single-sex schools provide more benefits than mixed schools

has sparked much debate. Some people assert that students in single-sex schools have

better academic achievements, whereas many others argue that mixed schools offer

students better social skills for their future. Personally, I am in favour of the latter view.

Convincing arguments can be made that mixed schools provide a more comprehensive

learning environment for children. To start with, students studying at mixed schools have more

chances to communicate with members of the opposite sex. In other words, children learn

how to talk to the other gender at an early age; therefore, their social skills would certainly be

fostered. Moreover, mixed schools give students opportunities to deal with conflicts with the

other gender, which strengthens students’ problem-solving skills. For instance, when a boy

has a conflict with a girl at school, both of them must learn how to cope. This lesson must be

learned sooner or later; as a result, students benefit more if they can learn it sooner. Lastly,

mixed schools provide students with a real-life scenario where both genders co-exist.

Specifically, students are able to learn in an organic environment in which boys and girls must

know how to interact with each other.

Admittedly, single-sex schools have fewer distractions. The reason for this is if a school

only has boys or girls, students would not be distracted by members of the opposite sex at

school; hence, they can focus on their learning. Even so, these students still have access to

the other gender after school, which means in reality, they must meet the other gender anyway.

Consequently, the benefits of single-sex schools are quite limited.

In summary, I would concede that single-sex schools have some advantages. Despite

that, mixed schools certainly support students in a much better way. Overall, I am convinced

that students should go to mixed school.