Some people think that watching sport is wastage of time during leisure time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Every person is unique, they have their own interests and likings. What one person may like, the other may dislike. Similarly is the case with sports, few individuals enjoys watching sports in their free time, but the others disregard it and consider it as a useless activity.

In my opinion, there are various factors that influences this thought of considering sports viewing as a waste of time. Firstly, it depends on a person’s perspective, there could be various reasons for such an attitude, for instance; having limited knowledge of sports, lack of time, being a workaholic etc. Secondly, lack of exposure to indoor or outdoor activities in the childhood. Majority of these hobbies are developed at a young age, if a person has not encountered any such situations or familiarise themselves with any kind of sport they would consider it boring and not fruitful.

Additionally, not everyone gets an opportunity to be a sportsperson, it requires dedication, commitment, determinations, game -strategies and long hours of work. By viewing these games live or on the Television, one gets an opportunity to passively learn by observing. Further, these games also portrays the qualities that a person should indulge in their life, like being a team player, having patience, controlling emotions, learning from defeat etc.

To conclude, though watching a game could not be as productive as other activities, but it has its own merits that cannot be overlooked. For a country like India sports viewing, especially a game like cricket is not only a hobby, but a passion that majority of the Indians enjoy and look forward for it.