Some people use the Internet to search for solutions to their medical problems. Is it a positive or negative development? Give your own opinion and examples from your experience.

It is a fact that the internet is used by many people to find cures for their medical conditions. In my opinion, this trend is a negative development. Before putting forward any conclusion, it is imperative to discuss the reasons to consider this a negative progression.

To begin with, the medical information available on the internet may not be accurate and could do more harm than treating a health problem. This is to say that there is no governing body to restrict and regulated the medical information that is posted on the internet. Thus, treatment information available online may not be a reliable to cure the disease and could have more adverse ramifications on the patients health. For instance, as per the report by AIIMS hospital, 34% of medical emergency cases in 2017 were of patients who consumed wrong medicines because they read it as the best treatment on the internet.

Furthermore, people do not have medical knowledge to choose the right treatment for their problem, from the internet. Many people who do internet search for medical remedies do not have knowledge of medical stream, and they do not understand the nitty gritty of medical treatment. Hence, they may choose a remediation that is totally opposite of their health requirement. To illustrate, as per a recent news a sugar patient in Delhi, reported with 600 units of blood sugar. On inquire it was found that he started consuming more sugar to cure his insulin condition because he read this solution on the internet.

In conclusion, despite internet being the quickest method to find treatment for the ones health condition, I believe it is a negative progression because not everything posted online is reliable and people are not qualified to assess the right remedy for themselves. I use internet daily for many problems during my work, however, for medical problems doctors are experts to guide us with right solution.