Some say that sports play an important role in the development of society. Others think it is nothing more than a leisure activity. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

To some people sport is merely a form of recreation, yet others argue that it is of paramount importance to society development. This essay will provide an in-depth analysis of both views before coming a rational conclusion.

On the one hand, it is believed that playing sport is a great way to improve health and ease tensions. Numerous benefits can be derived by playing sport on a daily basis. In terms of physical strength, participating in physical activities allow people to grow muscles, boost endurance and even enhance metabolism. It is also scientifically proven that the interaction with the surroundings helps to improve immune system, leading to great fitness and power. Additionally, playing sports also has a positive influence on mental well-being, which is essential for life fulfilment. Specifically, if people spend time on sport participation, the quality of sleep is enhanced significantly and many happy chemicals are produced such as endorphins, dopamine, which are amazing stress relievers.

However, other people claim that sport goes well beyond the spectrum of recreation as it also delivers multiple life lessons. The first and foremost one is the lesson of unity. In particular, sport draws people closer together, blurring the differences in religions, nationalities and cultures as all of the members have to find ways to collaborate and place trust in themselves as well as others to produce a harmonious performance. Moreover, it teaches people how to accept their failures, then handle their disappointment. Since victory is not always easily achieved, and failure is an inevitable part of sport, if one fails to accept their weakness, they can not learn form their mistakes and move forward. Therefore, sport somehow shows how the real world works and can be seen as a microcosm of human society.

In conclusion, sport is more than a pastime entertainment, and is a contribution to the improvement of individuals and society.