Some schools have restricted the use of mobile phones. Is this a positive development or a negative one?

In the recent era where cellphones have become ubiquitous, some educational authorities have restrained their usage for students and teachers and argue that excessive use of mobiles within campus can adversely impact both of them. Do mobiles play any vital role in a school that their usage should be considered valid? In my opinion, the decision of schools to stop bringing mobile to the classes is one of the necessary steps to be taken. This essay will discuss the reasons why it is an advantageous development and how it will make a progressive impact.

Firstly, the cellphone is one of the most distractive and addictive devices to own. In schools, where students need to focus on study and faculties on teaching, they can be proven noisy. For example, students keep checking on their phones to track the courier, which they suppose to receive. It may bolster the constant urge of looking at the screen, then they lost concentration in the subject and eventually may lose interest due to lack of understanding. Hence, phones should not be allowed within premises or limited to the outside of class.

In addition to that, mobiles keep the person busy, which is not a good sign for socialization. If students in school do not communicate with each other in person and are on their phones, then they will not make friends and not understand the need for human interaction, which may badly impact their communication skills in the long run.

However, phones can bring an abundance source of information to our fingertips, and with the use of them, the internet can be easily accessible. It can help solve the doubts for teachers or students and keep themselves up to date with the innovation happening around the world.

Conclusively, limiting the access of mobiles in schools is a positive step, as it may allow the pupils and faculties to concentrate on the study as well as maintain the relationship with the people surrounding them.