Some think that all entertainment TV programmes should educate people

about the importance of social issues. To what extent do you agree or disagree??

Television is the most popular form of entertainment for most people. Therefore, it is sensible why some suggested that education about social issues should be the main purpose of broadcasting TV programs. Personally, I believe this practice would unlikely work.

On one hand, gameshows and programs could convey meaningful messages about the world’s problems to their mass audience. First and foremost, every household owns at least one or more TV, thus making shows on television the most effective way to reach people. For example, during the pandemic, the Vietnamese Government raise citizens’ awareness through daily news programs and announce new policy about the lockdown. In addition, despite the rising of global problems, there were few programs which talk about it. Therefore, the overall awareness of people about the alarming stage of the world is relatively low.

Notwithstanding these reasons, I contend that replacing entertainment programs with educational ones would be ineffective. The most obvious reason is that these entertainment shows are a tool for people to release stress after a long, grueling working day. As a result, the audience would be weighed down by information about issues, such as global warming or war. Contracting to their original intention of watching TV which is to get rid of stress, more stress could be added rather than being eliminated. Even worse, some viewed might feel irritated and have a hostile attitude to educational programs, thus makes all the effort counterproductive.

In sum, despite the good intention of broadcasting shows that educate people, I believe that these programs should be a segment rather than be the only genre on TV. Greater emphasis should be placed on educational programs in order to impart knowledge about global issues.