The success of a country is often determined by their economic power.

Is this the most important factor? What other factors should be used to measure a country’s success?

It is true that the economic strength is considered as the most important indicator of nation’s success. I believe there are several other factors which are as equally important as economic power. This essay will discuss about these factors which contributes to the success of the nation.

It is agreed that without adequate economic condition the government will not be able to manage to run the nation and citizens will suffer. However, it will be meaningless if the country being economically strong fails to give basic minimum facilities to each citizens. Hence, the strength of economy is not only the most important factor for measuring success of the nation.

There are two major factors like quality of life of average citizen and poverty reduction which are also equally important parameters of successful country. An overall economic success does not always guarantees that this wealth is equally distributed about among all citizens and this means the wealth is in the hands of particular class of people. For instance, in developing countries like India, although its economy is considered as one of the strong economy, the corruption and exploitation still prevails due to which quality of average citizen is very low and 25% of citizens are below poverty line. In other words, the factors such as quality of life and success in reducing poverty are some of the factors which should also be considered equally important as strong economy.

In conclusion, although economic strength is one of the strong indicator to measure the success of any nation, there are other factors like quality life and poverty reduction which must be considered equally important.