Successful sports professionals can earn a great deal more money than people in other important professions. Some people think this is fully justified while others think it is unfair. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The world of sports is a multimillion-dollar industry. Around the globe, people flock to sporting events or watch their favorite teams faithfully each week on television. As a result, professional sports athletes receive huge salaries – well above, for example, those of doctors, lawyers, teachers, or social workers. There is some debate about whether such outrageously high salaries are justified.

On the one hand, sport is viewed as a professional career, in which the top players should rightly earn high salaries. Athletes train rigorously from an early age to become peak performers in their field. They face tremendous pressure in each and every game, match, or competition. Their personal lives are compromised and they lose all privacy. At the same time, their strong achievements bring honor and attention, not only to themselves but also to their teams, schools, cities, or countries.

On the other hand, various professions contribute to making our world run smoothly. Doctors put in at least ten years of grueling study and internship; their work saves lives. Teachers educate and inspire young people to be responsible citizens: their efforts produce the citizens of tomorrow. Social workers rescue individuals facing physical, mental, and psychological challenges: their intervention creates safer societies.

Yet, professionals in the fields above usually struggle to get by, despite their meaningful and critical contribution to the world.

In my view, paying enormous salaries to sportspeople is unnecessary. We need to reconsider our social priorities and eliminate the great disparity in income received by diverse professionals. By doing so, we can build societies in which each one feels valued, appreciated, and appropriately compensated for their own vocation or specialization.