Technological rapid development seems to take over and since less students choose to study traditional subjects in the universities nowadays, classical education courses will be limited until they gradually disappear completely.

Agree or disagree ?

In recent years, all over the world there has been a push on students to choose to study practical subjects that would better prepare them for the modern working world and therefore, it will be easier for students to find a job after their studies. Courses that emphasise on information technology, web development, economics and the like seem to be the first choices of undergraduate students. However, in my opinion, the possibility of theoretical based education disappearing from the universities altogether, it is too slight and undoubtedly it cannot take place.

The purpose of the range of subjects and courses (both theoretical and practical) offered at universities at present is to provide well-rounded education and consequently, to build well-rounded students and well-rounded citizens. Not all students have the knowledge base, the skills, or most importantly the interest to follow a career based on technological or other practical programmes. There are students who are artistic or they have an inclination to writing, language, literature and similar fields. These students should be given a variety of choices to study what they prefer instead of being given limited choices.

What is more, higher theoretical education is equally important as higher practical education in the sense that lots of students who graduate from theoretical programmes in universities around the world are then working as teachers in secondary schools. As it can be easily understood, this is of critical importance as these teachers educate the future generation on basic thinking and learning skills which is vital for both the lives and the future career of the latter.

To conclude, I do not think that classical education courses are going to be restricted in the future, let alone disappear. Both fields are equally important for different reasons and in order to build well-rounded citizens, a country needs to offer a well-rounded and balanced higher education.