Some countries are struggling with an increase in the rate of crime. Many people think that having more police on the streets is the only way to reduce these increasing levels of crime.

To what extent to you agree or disagree?

A number of countries have been experiencing difficulties to ameliorate the culminating crime rate. A substantial number of people opine that increased law enforcement agents on the streets is the only saviour to degenerate these phenomenon. In my opinion, I am not entirely convinced with the statement as I do believe a fragile socio-economic stance is the main obstacle to minimise these problems.

To begin, the law enforcement body is dubbed with the sign to combat criminal offences. People are generally afraid of police because the police, who are appalling in appearance, has the supreme authority to exercise laws to the miscreants, which is the main reason some people think why availability of police on streets could lessen the crime. But this is not efficacious in general as it really work to some extent. For exponent, drug trafficking and drug taking are two sorts of criminal offences and the criminals are from different backgrounds. Police can control tangible movement of drugs, but they would not hinder drug taker from consuming drugs, which will lead the drug business perpetually as this problem is intangible that urge the society to solve it implicitly.

However, recruiting more policies on streets will not solve the increasing rate of crime; there are several socio-economic lackings need to reconstruction to control these problems. First and foremost, poverty is one of the most important catalyst that lure innocent people to commit crimes. For instance, dwellers of slums in the large cities frequently do burglary as they don't find any suitable jobs to sustain their lives. Secondly, unevenly distribution of wealth is also a reason to increase crime. Because not only rich people are becoming more richer but also trading contrabands products by illegal means, which is totally beyond the control of so called police. So by developing infrastructures for the poor to engage with economic activity and establishing equally wealth distribution law can actually reduce the crime.

To conclude, I believe that increasing police on the streets will definitely help to reduce the rate of crime to some extent, but an improved socio-economic system will contribute more to lessen the rate of crime.