Teenagers are spending an increasing amount of time on the Internet, and this is having a negative effect on their social skills. Do you agree or disagree?

With the advancement of science and technology, adolescents tend to invest in a huge amount of time on the Internet. Although this has a small amount of negative impact, there are many positive impacts that easily eliminates the few negatives. This essay provides the positive effects on the social skills of teenagers.

The primary positive aspect is that, adolescents spending more time utilising the Internet can hone their study skills, thereby honing their social skills as well. In other words, improving study skills includes improvising on presentation skills, they tend to become outspoken pupils, and hence their soft skills also tend to develop. This skill development at an earlier age ensures them to grow periodically well in the future.

The secondary aspect is that, students are exposed to a wide variety of social apps and sites such as, Facebook, WhatsApp and many more. This helps them to increase their contacts worldwide providing them a global exposure. They try to learn cultural differences and also experience different accents or languages through their contacts. This again, increases their social abilities.

The tertiary aspect is that, in the long run, due to a large exposure, they can very well increase their employment opportunities. To give a clear example, recruitment of candidates, nowadays, happen widely through social sites such as LinkedIn and Glassdoor. This proves that improvement of social skills also pave way to employment opportunities.

With the above aspects clearly stated, it is therefore evident that adolescents spending more time online improve their social skills for their betterment, and these positive aspects outweigh the negatives.