The tendency of human beings to copy one another is increasing in popularity. Is this a positive or negative development? What can be done about it?

In the contemporary era, due to technological advancements there is a tendency and an ease for people to follow each other. Despite some demerits, it has led to benefits to human civilization. This essay will discuss how it helped us in a good way and what steps can be taken against the cons.

Today, due to social media boom almost everyone on this planet can exchange their thoughts with everyone. There are many social media influencers who has tremendous followers through which they can advertise a plethora of the products and due to globalisation the products can be reached to anyone. For instance, Somya Gupta, who has 50 million followers on Instagram, always seen to sharing good tips and products regarding fashion and self care. As the tips are genuine, people trust her and copy her. This has bought an opportunity for her to gather ample amount of money at a very young age. In addition to it, if people are copying a person who is associated in activities like social welfare, fighting against climate change and working for greener environment, it can bring positiveness.

There are some demerits to this scenario that people need to be cautious while copying others, they must understand whom they are copying to. For example, if a person follows any of the celebrities and if they perform dangerous stunts in the movie, the person should not blindly follow and adopt all the them. There will always be the difference between reel life and real life. To counter such cases, awareness program should be run, especially for youngsters, through which they can be taught the difference of the state they are in and the state of whom they are following.