Theoretical subjects such as mathematics and philosophy are taught in universities but students prefer more practical subjects such as accounting and computer programming. Some people believe theoretical subjects should be abandoned in universities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, young generations who are dynamic tend to select practical majors like software engineering rather than theoretical fields such as philosophy in universities. Therefore, there is a fair amount of people believes that universities should remove theoretical subjects in their curriculums. I totally with this argument, so this essay will argue why theory subjects should be banned.

On the one hand, there is a reason that schools have to keep teaching theoretical subjects. The theory is an essential base for studying further subjects including practical ones. For instance, to enroll computer-programming course, students need to pass mathematics first because they will learn algorithms, which relates directly to mathematics. This example has been supported the idea that teaching theoretical subjects in universities is necessary.

Although the theory is necessary, however, I am still in favor of the idea that educational organizations should remove heavy theoretical contents from the curriculums. The first reason is that the theory is not only very boring but it is also extremely complex. Once students are not interested in a complex subject, they will hardly understand and acquire knowledge from the subject. The second reason is that labor market in current technology era needs people who have practical skills and are ready to work immediately. Regarding the current study of London University, about 90% of employers surveyed want to hire students who already had hands-on experiences instead of they have to give them more training. Due to the facts above, universities should teach rather practical trainings than theoretical subjects.

This essay argued why theoretical contents should be removed from universities. In my opinion, I completely agree with this argument because the labor market needs and the theoretical subjects are useless if students cannot understand the content.