There is an increase trend around the world to have a smaller family rather than a large family.

what are some advantages and disadvantages of having a small family rather than a large family?

In this new day and age, couples are opting to have more a nuclear family structure rather than a bigger family. This pattern can be seen across the spectrum and is only growing. There are some pros and cons with this smaller family structure, which I would like to discuss in this essay.

One such prominent benefit of having a smaller number of family members is that the parents can give appropriate amount of attention to each of their offspring. With a maximum of two kids, the parents can have better focus on their education and behaviour. This is a very important benefit in this new fast paced lifestyle. Another advantage of having a nuclear family structure is that you can save on the overall cost of living. With lesser number of members, they can live in a smaller house and save on lifestyle expenses. The increase in the number of children will be directly proportionate to their expenses.

Where there are many pros in this idea, there are also few cons as well. The first one is in regards to the help received in raising the children. In a larger setup, the elder can assist their parents in taking care of the house as well as in raising the younger sibling. This is highly beneficial when both the parents are working. Another disadvantage is to do with the emotional growth of the children. Studies show that kids with siblings are more respectable and empathetic.

In conclusion, although having a bigger family can be emotionally very fulfilling, it will really create a dent in the pocket. A couple should