Today more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctic.

What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

Traveling is an essential way of unwinding from these hectic lifestyles. With increasing accessibility and availability of modern means of communication and transportation there is an increase in travel to unknown and previously known as hard to reach destinations. These places could be with extreme conditions such as extremely hot and dry like Sahara desert or extremely cold like the Antarctic. While the rise in tourism at these places could be advantageous in the field of science or boosting local economy or else, it could also be potentially dangerous to the delicate ecological balance and rare species.

Income from tourism plays a vital part in some country’s economic growth like for Thailand or Dubai. So, with the rise in tourist visit in more and more unexplored interior locations ensures a direct upliftment of the indigenous communities financially. Statistics from the World Tourism Organization for the South Pole and the North Pole supports this claim. It provides numerical evidence that there is a 35 % growth in the purchasing capacity of the local settlements of these destinations after the introduction of the SNP adventure program which, facilitates trips to these difficult locations.

Additionally, these expeditions also provide with unique opportunity to collect scientific data helpful to understand the various phenomenon and uncover many historical mysteries. For instance exploration team from Japan in 2017 discovered three new reptile species that shares DNA with species in the Amazon Rainforest providing a key link to evolution. To sum up, these visits to untrodden places prove beneficial on multiple fronts including economy and science.

On the contrary, there have also been past instances where human interventions have been proven potentially threatening to the sensitive surroundings and ecological balance as well as some endangered species. Human race’s intriguing nature has been notoriously known to create disturbances in the existing environment under the veil of science. As per the recent results of a seal, counting project revealed that there is a substantial decrease in no of seals from the areas in the South Pole famous among the expeditors as they use them as a source of food and collect leather to take back. Another example is of the Caribbean island which has no human life form bus has its bio-diversity disturbed by human interaction. A stranded ship once waited in this island for few hours and this passed on the ants to this island which now is a danger to the existence of unique Croatian crabs found here. Therefore, it is clear that directly or indirectly humans are responsible for damage to the ecology.

Traveling to unknown and not so common locations can not only be adventurous but also essential in terms of uncovering scientific mysteries. These trips could be a major source of revenue for locals and provide knowledge. However, if care is not taken during these expeditions then it could lead to extremely dangerous situations for the natural balance. Hence such trips should be planned to maximize pros and minimize its cons.