In spite of the advances made in agriculture many people around the world still go hungry.

Why is this the case?

What can be done about this problem?

Agriculture practice is one of the most important practice as it ensures provisions of food and clothing for the entire mankind. These days there have been numerous changes introduced to agriculture in order to improve the quality and quantity of food production yet, this has not been able to eradicate hunger issues from around the globe. This essay discusses, primary causes and solutions for prevalence of hunger even though there is upgradation of agriculture science.

First and foremost cause of insufficient food supply is a result of decreasing popularity if farming as a career choice. Farming these days have less or no monetary incentive as well as it is not always a profitable business. Hence it is observed youth today prefers to migrate to an urban area in search of jobs leaving their traditional agricultural practices behind. Consequently, there are less farmers producing food. Second culprit responsible for world hunger is a combination of poor food transportation system for perishables and immense food wastage particularly in urban areas. Owing to this there is a lack of food supply to under privileged especially in the developing nations leaving them hungry and malnourished. Therefore there is a dire need to encourage agriculture as well as improve food supply chain, food storage and regulate its wastage.

In order to deal with decreasing number of farmers, government should not only subsidize costs in farming practices but also introduce more agriculture and horticulture universities and encourage concepts of urban farming. This would ensure an increasing involvement in food production. Moreover, financial compensations in terms of better selling rates would also make it a profitable trade practice. On the other hand, there is a need for better transportation facilities for fruits and vegetables to utilize it completely. Additionally strict laws should be enforced against food wastage and alternatively creative options such as distribution of excess food amongst the poor should be made available. Clearly, authorities could play an important role in better food production, supply and storage and consumption.

Despite the development in agriculture science, there is food shortage resulting in hunger. This essay outlined three major causes for this. Such as, decreasing agriculture practice, improper food supply chin and immense food wastage. However this could be overcome by active government involvement to increase awareness regarding agriculture and implementing strict rules against food wastage.