Tourism is encouraged in many countries. Does tourism bring more advantages or disadvantages to a country?

Of late tourism has increased rapidly. More and more nations across the world support tourism, while there are many positives to this, there are few negatives as well. However, I think, there are more advantages with visitors than disadvantages. In the below paragraphs we go in-depth of this and try to understand the pros and cons better.

Nowadays, every country is looking for alternate source of revenue, to cut the burden on existing means, to strengthen their economy. For instance, the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia recently has started providing visa for tourists, to aid tourism which is an alternate economy source to their existing source of fossil fuel. Countries like Indonesia, Malaysia and Singapore majorly depend on tourism for economy. When we have many globetrotter in the country, the industries that benefits in large are the hospitality, leisure, local small-scale industries like artisans, hand-loom etc, it creates jobs for the local community, the government funds for public infrastructure, overall it revives the economy of that place.

On the down side, with strangers exploring the native place, the chances of illegal migration of people becomes higher, smuggling of restricted goods to the country will be in raise, Often, people from outside damage the monuments of historic importance as they fail to understand the archaeological importance of the place or thing. To exemplify on the above points, on a regular basis we read in newspapers in Dubai, the number of illegal immigrants who were deported back to their home countries, many instances of people arrested at the airport for carrying restricted goods like plants and seeds are reported.

Although, tourism has some drawbacks as mentioned above, it can be minimized if handled with strong enforcement of laws and vigilant policing in the country. I think, with more foreigners coming into the country, the economy strengthens and the employment opportunity to the local community increases, which outweighs the disadvantages.