Pollution of rivers, lakes and seas is a major concern for people who seek to protect the environment.

What are the possible causes of water pollution, and what effects does this have on animal life and human society?

Earth is the only planet in our solar system where life is found. The reason being among many is availability of water, the primary source of life. Today, globally we are all challenged to protect the water resources from contamination, in order to sustain the life. In this essay we would discuss few causes and affects of the water pollution on animal life and human life.

Though causes for water pollution are many, ‘diverting untreated industrial waste to the water bodies’, ‘oil spillage during shipping’ are the major contributors to the same. We live in a world of consumerism and thereby industrial mass production of commodities is rampant, which leads the companies to work overtime, neglect the policies and fail at considering the environmental impacts the untreated waste could have. Also sea is considered as the most economical mode, in transporting products from place to place. Thereby large vessels, having huge volume of capacity carrying crude oils are often set to sail in our ocean. It is found that on an average at least four to five percentage of oil spillage is acceptable as per industrial standards under ideal conditions, which is very rare to even fantasize.

The direct impact of water pollution is on the marine animals, when the natural habitat of any species is hindered, it is very obvious that their life is threatened. The number of species that has been listed in the endangered category and extinct category has risen enormously in the last century. Human being, the top most being on the food chain is also dependent on same natural resources water, air etc., as other beings, thereby any ecological imbalance created would affect the rest of the life as we are all interdependent.

Overall, untreated water and oil spill are the major causes of water pollution that effects the animal life and human beings.