Traffic congestion is a growing problem in many of the world's major cities. Explain some possible reasons for this problem and suggest some solutions.

Traffic has become a major concern for people across the globe. Increased use of personal vehicle for commutation and narrow roads are the 2 main causes for the issue while this can be solved by promoting more use of public transportation and widening the roads.

To start with the problems causing traffic congestions include the private vehicles usage by the residents. It has become a trend this days, to travel using self owned vehicles. Moreover, with the increase in the number of the private vehicles, more parking space is needed. Due to limited parking area, apparently vehicles are parked on the roads creating traffic problems. Also, in many cities, roads are quite narrow to accommodate huge number of vehicles in specific traffic hours. For example, 48% of people have accepted in a road survey that they park their vehicles on roads due to no parking facilities in some area. Thus, using the personal cars and the narrow roads are creating major issues in most cities.

There are solutions available for all human created problems. To suffice the traffic issue, government needs to come forward and appeal to the people to help use and promote public transportation. For example, in Mumbai, people are charged only 20 R's for 10 total kilometer radius, thus promoting good and safe transportation services. Also, building fly overs is also a solution to reduce traffic. Either roads can be broadened or the fly overs can be built to curb the problem.

To close, with the increasing population there would be increase in the number of vehicles on road but with a good public transportation schemes and widened roads, the problems can be lessened to a certain extent. Thus, leading to a safe and enjoyable travel for work or for holidays.