The use of cell phones (mobile phones) has grown rapidly in the past few years. People use them for both business and personal reasons.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of the widespread use of cell phones (mobile phones)?

Mobile phones have become increasingly popular among people since the last few years, and these are widely used by many people for their official and private purposes. However, while I believe that cell phones have played an important role in communication and development, I also think that it has some drawbacks among students and children. In this essay, I will discuss a few positive points and negative points related to mobile phones.

To begin with, advantages, communicating with people from other countries have become very convenient and easy by the invention of mobile phones. Even mobile phones are widely used to communicate with close relatives to maintain a good relationship with them. Students, who are studying abroad, for instance, are now able to communicate with their parents easily. In the development of this advanced era, cell phones have played a vital role to speed-up the modernization. Since a few years, it has been observed that people are able to communicate with others easily using their cell phones whereas, before the invention of mobile phones, people used to make calls using the landline phone. Engineers, for example, can talk to top leaders over the phone to take approval for any development project.

Despite the many advantages of cell phones, it has some disadvantages of mobile phones among students and children. Mobile phones are widely used by school and university students who belong to wealthy families, and they waste lots of their studying time on using mobile phones. Many school students, for instance, use mobile phones when they are supposed to complete their assignments. Cell phones are also used by children also in playing video games which has some detrimental effect on them. For example, the screen of mobile phones emits infrared rays which are very harmful to children.

To sum up, every coin has two sides. Similarly, mobile phones have many advantages such as easy communication between people. On the other hand, it has some drawbacks including waste of unnecessary time by students by using mobile phones.