What are the advantages and disadvantages of using CCTV cameras to fight crime?

Recently, I read an article about the impact that street cameras have on crime rate. In the article, some police officers state that these devices have positive influence on it. However, some social workers argue that they have negative impact on the safety of streets. In this essay, I will discuss both pros and cons of this.

Let us start with advantageous effects that the installment of cameras in the streets causes on crime. The first benefit is that it usually deters criminals. Offenders, who tend to be suspicious of being noticed, dread committing a crime, because they see the camera in every corner. Another advantage is that it helps to solve a crime. Cameras enable the jury to make the right verdict, since they record the crime in action, which usually works better than any witness. Therefore, after analyzing, it is clear that the application of video recorders helps to improve the problem with crime.

Nevertheless, despite these merits, the usage of cameras have numerous demerits. Firstly, it cannot fully replace the presence of police. The government intends to cut the number of police departments by installing more cameras in cities, but, unlike humans, they are unable to physically prevent violators. Secondly, it has technical limits. Video registrars sometimes cannot spot the act of crime, as they have restrictions in observation of streets as well as heavily rely on electricity supply. As a result, after considering, it is obvious that the operation of cameras creates many repercussions for the security.

In conclusion, even though the installment of cameras has a multitude of positive sides, it also poses plenty of complications.