While recruiting a new employee, the employer should pay more attention to their personal qualities, rather than qualifications and experience. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give your opinion and include relevant examples.

It is believed that employers should see personal attributes instead of the qualification and experience of the candidates while hiring them. In my opinion, personal skills are more important in sales job while qualification and degree matters the most in the professional jobs.

On the one hand, I believe that basic qualities like having healthy conversations, power to convince etc. are in-built in any human being and they cannot be taught in any school or college. Text-books can only teach theory but basic characteristics are possessed by the person by birth. For instance, qualities required in a sales person are patience and willingness to sell any product. Books can teach only the basic of sales, however, it is the individual who convince and sells the product using his inter-personal skills which are difficult to see in people holding degrees.

On the other hand, I would say that there are some professions where qualification is more significant than skills. A person is unable to become a professional until he does not know the basic concepts of that field. For example, any person cannot become lawyer just because he is good at arguing. A professional degree is required where all the articles, sections and various real time cases are taught and explained.

In conclusion, according to me, recruiters should see the qualities and experience in the candidate depending upon the position they are hiring for. If a salesman is required personal skills are more valuable and if the vacancy is for any professional they should focus more on the qualification and experience.