Write about the following topic.

Using a computer every day can have more negative than positive effects on your children.

Do you agree or disagree?

The daily use of a computer by growing children have been argued to have more adverse effects than positive ones. This essay disagrees with this notion. Exposing children at an early age to the use of computers gives them the opportunity to start experimenting and horne valuable skills at an early age. Computers also keep them busy and keeps them away from social vices.

The earlier a child learns to be comfortable with experimenting, the better for him. Computers make it possible for children to be comfortable with experimenting at an early age. For instance, in-built softwares on computers like Microsoft paint can make them pick up skills like digital drawing and painting; a basic notepad can also help them start web page design or experiment with software development from their tender ages. In addition, experimenting with the hardware components of the computer and trying to troubleshoot when the computer doesn’t work gives children a good opportunity to experiment.

Improvements in the computer software industry have made it possible to have the software version of almost every activity one can think of. This is a positive development because a computer, when used for the right things would keep a child busy and away from social vices. For example, digital games, when played in moderation and supervision have been known to keep children engaged for hours. This reduces the chances of the children been lured into street gangs and other forms of vices.

To conclude, although people might argue that the positive effects of computers are less, I strongly believe that when used under supervision and in moderation, exposing a child daily to a computer system can help them develop intellectually by experimenting from the comfort of their rooms. It also keeps them busy and away from negative habits that could be cultivated at an early age.