Write a narrative essay about a risk you have taken.

Being an 18-year-old teenager has been the most memorable time in my life. Although a variety of new things came to me, I was excited to deal with all the changes. Not only was that time hard to forget, but so far it has also been the toughest time for me. I had to choose the universities I wanted to enroll in cautiously, then I sat for the most challenging examination in a student’s life - the national entrance exam. After a short period, I received a notification that I was admitted into HCM City’s Open University. I was so curious about how I was going to live in a different town and adapt to new environment.

It is not frequently straightforward and smooth to move into a new city as you expected it to. The first obstacle I met was finding an appropriate hostel to live in during the time I was studying here. Because of not having a motorbike, I had to find a place which was near my college. I could not afford the hostel’s price myself, so I had to look for a roommate to share the costs. It could be hazardous because I could not know whether they were good people. Accordingly, I decided to live with my schoolmate to maintain my safety. I have always been told that HCM City is so bustling and congested that there will be myriad of frauds, scams and social crimes such as robbery, pick-pocket and even murdering. Any time I got on a bus or went to a crowded place, I must always be vigilant and hold my bag in front of me so as not to get pick-pocketed. Additionally, it was absolutely a nightmare for me to come home late in the evening. Despite the fact that there were many people on the way home, I still felt afraid and could not believe in anyone but myself.

Traffic would be another issue I felt unaccustomed to when I lived in HCM City. The traffic here is so hasty, insane and complicated that a plenty of accidents occur every day. I felt like I was risking my life every time I got out. As a result of some people who did not obey the laws, I had to be more judicious to avoid unwanted dangers. They crossed the red light and went too fast, which made the traffic worse. Once I was shouted at by a man who did not want to wait in the congestion then he rode on the sidewalk and did not even care about the people walking there. Although it has been a year since I stayed in HCM City, I still felt hard to get used to the traffic here.

After living independently for virtually a year, I was eventually able to take good care of myself, become more confident and learn how to protect myself from evildoers. I missed the time when I was a little daughter of my parents a lot, but I knew I had to stay strong. In spite of facing lots of new changes in this city, I am gradually getting used to them now. It was hard for me to adapt at first, but I still had my family standing by me and supporting me. I felt so blessed to have them in my life.