You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Present a written argument or case to an educated reader with no special knowledge of the following topic:

News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news was reported?

Use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

You should write at least 250 words.

In today's times, nothing rules as much as NEWS does to any individual in modern society. News literally decides for the social norms and their repercussions. There is a huge hunger and market to get the latest news, which is instantaneously fed by the giant News channels and agencies through their filtered and edited news. Let's explore more about their modus operandi in detail here via this essay.

It would not be an exaggeration to state that most of the urban population wakes up to a myriad of news via print or visual media every morning. Unless they are not done with the initial several minutes of TV news newpaper , its hard to imagine their day to get kickstarted. But what is there in these news which make our society hooked? There are myriad of factors like the Sensationalism of the news which feeds many hungry hearts, emotional news which make people feel relatatable. Also, shocking news which give jolts to people in their otherwise mundane lives.

Ofcourse, news editors not only know and play the game but also how to be at the top on that and hence they would not hesitate to show the news of deaths, robberies, killings, rapes , terrorism just to garner the TRPs without considering the impact or any effects on the general society which ofcourse includes kids and elderly too. Despite of this, it would be wrong to state that only bad news are shown on these mediums, some good and positive news are broadcasted too which fills everyone with joy and hopes. However, with every day the number of good news are becoming lesser and lesser paving more way to ugly news only which is a big concern and should be dealt with accordingly.

To conclude, though we, as a consumer, must know the real facts of society which can be harsh sometimes, at the same time we also need a positive dose of mood upliftment to look forward to our days and lives. And hence, a balanced mix of both bad and good news would make a healthy start to anybody's day.