You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic.

Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives.

Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words

I agree both in different settings.

There are several advertisements that I am aware of, as I watched in television add and read in daily news paper, introduce us new products that in my opinion may well improve our lives. For example, an advertisement that post an advertisement with a decent offer for travel abroad including stay to a place someone desire to go long time but postponed in the past because of the high budget. In this case, such advertisement will provide an wonderful opportunity to fulfill his/her long time dream and the result may be that a heave sigh of relieve and satisfaction for the person or family who benefitted from this advertisement. This definitely will improve a social well being of the person or the family. So I agree that it is possible there are some business who advertise with real intent to offer a good benefits to its customer or sale the tour package at a reduced profit margin. These companies are not only improve their business it is also participating responsibly with society for a good cause.

In contrast other advertisements are encourages us to buy things that we really do not need.

For example, a FMCG company that produces pocket chips of poor quality and with harmful ingredients aimed to promote its sales by offers. The health of people, mainly children who buy in excess than usual will difinitly be affected as it increases the consumption and so the risk of getting ill. For this reason, it is in contrast to the earlier, few advertisements are not only encourages us to buy things that we really do not need, it is also make serious negative impact on health of children and so the parents in our society too affected.

In conclusion, people should be aware of and be able to identify the useful among many bad advertisements so that the company promote advertisement with wrong purpose fails.