You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic.

Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives.

Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

Advertising is like the lifeline of any product and promotes it for market efficiency. Some people deem it as encouragement toward buying unnecessary things while others consider it as a positive message, telling us about products to improve the standard of life. In the following paragraphs, I will discuss both viewpoints before giving my opinion.

Considering advertisements as an encouragement to buy goods that are not necessarily required is not something prejudicing. Advertisements are meant for promoting the company product with the final purpose of people buying it, therefore, it is not a wrong thing to consider as something negative. For example, If Coca-cola does not advertise its beverages, there is no way people will buy them or will know about them and as result, the company would not generating any profit. Hence, advertising even if encouraging unnecessary expenditure is the backbone of company profits.

The belief that it helps to improve our lives is not wrong either because advertisement may be there to motivate people about buying things but it does not mean that it does so without giving any information about the product. Each advertisement contains some kind of information regarding the product, mostly positive. The example of Frooti is a perfect embodiment of this as in this advertisement, it is displayed what is the Frooti made of such as Mangoes. Moreover, the advertisement may offer additional information about the product ingredients to encourage viewers to buy the product.

I agree with the second viewpoint rather than the first one more, not because the first one is wrong. The first viewpoint is right considering the general purpose of advertisement is to sell goods. However, in the end, the consumers are the ones responsible for buying the product and they can decide so by watching the advertisement which gives at least some quick information about the product.

To hammer the nail in the coffin, people can have different opinions regarding advertisement and what it promotes but that does not change the actual message or intention of the adverts.