Young people are leaving country side to live in cities and towns leaving old people in countryside

what are the solutions.

Migration from small town to big cities is an old phenomenon followed since ages. Few believe that due to lack of employment opportunity, infrastructure, health care and life style has motivated youngsters to move to the cities, as a result they tend to leave their parents back at home which has led to several ethical and developmental issue in their home-grown town. In this essay will discuss the effects and possible solution of this ongoing trend.

There are several reasons which demands the youths to move to bigger cities leaving their parents back at home, even though they are well qualified and educated they find difficulties to get a good job in their home town, the main reason behind this is imbalance in rural and urban development. This is popularly known as brain drain, wherein intelligent people will be provided employment in bigger cities and their home town will loose such valuable human resource as a result the elderly parents lose their health and are away from children, who could have taken care of them in case of emergency. As per the recent survey conducted by BBC India, it is found that 75% of the graduated students from tier 2 cities will move to metro either for seeking employment or for further education. This has severe affect on not only home town but also on the bigger cities as they will be facing congestion, inflation and ultimately city leads to saturation stage because of over population.

This tendency can be curtailed by having a wider approach to the growth and development of all the sections of the country. The companies should be allowed to scatter across the region by balancing their presence in both backward and developed areas. This approach provides an opportunity to stay with their family and lead a happy life. As the requirement of moving to bigger city can be fulfilled locally, then there is very less scope of going to metros. Government has to bring in several policy to develop the small towns so that there is no reason to go to bigger cities for fulfillment of any purpose. The improved standard of living, healthcare facility, employment should be given utmost importance in rural areas to stop this.

In conclusion, this imbalance can be removed by Government through introducing several policies and reforms for the growth of under developed area by which youth can be retained in their home town with their parents. This will have a greater impact on all the sectors of the economy.