The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Most of the time, life could be hard. We might face some difficulties while we grow up, or challenge our selves because we want to succeed. Happiness is one of the ultimate goals that everyone pursues in life. I agree with the statement that the ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily for the following reasons.

Firstly, we may face difficulties in life, and it is important for us to have some people around to support us. Good friends would be supportive because we do the same thing to them when they have a hard time. We call them "old friends" because they grew up with us. This actually reminds me of one of my high-school friends, Joyce, a person I have known for 10 years. When I recently had a breakup, she was the first person I wanted to talk with. Similarly, when Joyce lost her job, she called me and cried for three hours. At the end, we both got through our difficult time of life, thanks to the maintaining of our friendship.

Next, old friends are the people that know you the best, and that makes life a lot of happier and fun. Every time I hang out with my old friends, we can immediately make the decision like which restaurant to go or which place to travel because we know each other so well. If there is a friend in our group doesn't like spicy food, and then we would avoid ordering spicy dishes when we go out to eat. And more importantly, we would feel more relaxed when we spend time together.

In conclusion, I prefer to keep the old friends than knowing more new friends. I think that a good-quality relationship is one of the keys leads to a happy life.