A city wants to help teachers of its high school students (age 14-18) improve their teaching. It is considering two plans:

1. Choose a small group of excellent teachers, these teachers will attend a class led by an expert for additional training in how to teach effectively, and they will then come back to their schools and provide that training for other teachers at school.

2. Provide additional training in teaching effectively for high school teachers, using the online material that each teacher will study individually.

Throughout history, teachers have been playing a prominent role in the educational process. Needless to say that the more teachers are trained in order to improve their teaching, the more educational system enhances. To achieve this goal, choosing a small group of excellent teachers to receive the additional training and transferring them to other teachers, or providing an online course for each teacher to study individually are two approaches that a city can use. But which one is more effective? In my opinion, online courses are a better choice and have more benefits for both teachers and educational organizations. In the following paragraphs, I am going to aptly delve into my perspective.

First of all, an online course provides a platform for more numbers of teachers to be taught at the same time, so all teachers can learn the teaching skills in a short time. For example, if all teachers enroll in an online course in summer, all of them will be ready to teach, based on what they learned in the course, in the fall semester. While choosing some representatives to be trained and then convey the information to their colleagues is time-consuming. Moreover, another positive point in the online method is that educational organizations can see the result of the course and evaluate the strengths and weaknesses of it in the near future. Consequently, online courses lead to improving the quality of teaching in a short span of time.

Another biggest merit of online courses than traditional class courses is that teachers can directly access to the exhaustive information and its details on their online platform. In other words, online courses classify the information in the correct order, which lets teachers learn them without missing some parts. On the other hand, some information possibly might be missed or unwillingly distorted when a teacher, who has attended a class, is conveying them to other teachers. A study conducted in a distinguished college in Toronto supports this claim. According to the study, 22 percent of the information that had transferred by a person to other people was inadvertently omitted or changed. Therefore, utilizing online courses help teachers learn comprehensive materials and do not miss any parts.

So, to put it in a nutshell, the importance of training high school teachers to improve their teaching is well-known, and it can be simply and effectively done by online courses. Although some educational experts have found some disadvantages in online courses, according to what has discussed above, the advantages of using online material outweigh the disadvantages of it. I strongly recommend that cities choose the online courses and materials to train their highs school teachers to benefit from the positive points of it.