Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Throughout history, human being’s attempt have been to establish relationship with others. A controversial question that is often raised regarding this issue is whether the ability to maintain friendships with handful people for a long period of time is more important for happiness compared to the ability to make new friends easily. Some people possess the conviction that having long-lasting relationship with old friends is more pleasant than establishing new rapport, while others hold exactly the opposite view. I personally contend that having eternal relationships with a small number of people worth more. To substantiate my point of view, the following paragraphs represent a cursory glance at the most outstanding reasons.

The first reason coming to mind to elucidate my standpoint is concerned with this issue that from a psychological point of view, people tend to have long-lasting relations. In other words, people tend to be with someone who is reliable and confident. For this reason, they do not want to take a risk to find a new person. This does not mean that people want to have relasion with only constrained population, conversely, due to the social essence of human beings they like to be attend in different gatherings. However, when it comes to have a family relationship, almost all people prefer to be in contact with few people whom they know for a long time. The noteworthy statistics revealed by recent social research in my country show that more than 75 percent of men between 45 and 55 prefer to have family relations with families of their old friends. On the other hand, they do not want to have a constant relationship with people who get recently acquainted with.

The second rationale behind this opinion is rooted in the fact that people prefer to have relations with people who have a lot in common. Old friends are the best exemplary for this feature. To make it more clearer, consider my personal experience. My best friends belong to the time we were in high school. Nowadays, when we gather together, we have a lot of shared memories to talk about. In addition, owing to our recognition from each other, we can perceive attitudes and emossions of each other. Moreover, beacause of the fact that we are in a same age range, we have similar entertainment. All of these features lead to a pleasent relation. In my opinion, if people do not have common features, that is the case in people to whom we get acquainted everyday, they probably would not have a decent relationship in long term.

In brief, contemplating all the aforementioned reasons, one soon realizes that handful old friends are gold and we cannot substitute them with others.